Stroll on the Old Port

During your stay in La Rochelle, be sure to stroll along the quays of the port. On foot or by bike, admire the breathtaking view of the ocean from the Square Valin where deckchairs await you for a pleasant break. Then continue your walk, without forgetting to observe the amazing lock bridges that regulate the water level and cross the port in certain places.

Finally, visit the famous towers and admire the view from the top before going back down for a stroll through the Cours des Dames market. In its blue huts, you will find souvenirs and local specialities to bring back from your stay in La Rochelle.

The three towers of La Rochelle

The Chaîne Tower and the Saint-Nicolas Tower have framed the Old Port of La Rochelle for centuries, becoming true emblems of the city. The Chaîne tower owes its name to the chain that was once stretched from one tower to the other to block the entrance to the port.

These two towers, together with the Lantern Tower, are remnants of the fortifications and bear witness to the power of La Rochelle throughout history.

European capital of sailing

The marina of La Rochelle has an international reputation: in addition to numerous shipyards, the capital of Charente Maritime hosts the "Saint Jacques à la Voile" race.

Windsurfers and kite-surfers can also enjoy the beautiful beaches of the Atlantic.

See also

La Rochelle

Balade sur le Vieux Port

Pendant votre séjour à La Rochelle, ne manquez pas de flâner sur les quais du port. À pied ou à vélo, admirez la vue imprenable sur l’océan depuis le Square Valin où des chaises longues vous attendent pour une agréable pause. Reprenez ensuite votre chemin, sans oublier d’observer les étonnants ponts d’écluse permettant de réguler le niveau de l’eau et de traverser le port à certains endroits.

Enfin, visitez les fameuses tours et admirez la vue d’en haut avant de redescendre pour une balade sur le marché de la Cours des Dames. Dans ses cabanes bleues, vous trouverez des souvenirs et spécialités locales à ramener de votre séjour à La Rochelle.

Les trois tours de La Rochelle

La tour de la Chaîne et la tour Saint-Nicolas encadrent depuis des siècles le Vieux Port de La Rochelle, devenant de véritables emblèmes de la ville. La tour de la Chaîne doit son nom à la chaîne qui était autrefois tendue d’une tour à l’autre pour bloquer l’entrée du port.

Vestiges des fortifications ces deux tours ainsi que la tour de la Lanterne témoignent de la puissance de La Rochelle au cours de l’histoire.

Capitale européenne de la voile

Le port de plaisance de La Rochelle a une réputation internationale : en plus de nombreux chantiers, le chef-lieu de la Charente Maritime accueille la course « Saint Jacques à la Voile ».

Les amateurs de planche à voile et de kite-surf profitent également des belles plages de l’Atlantique.

Découvrez également

la Rochelle